Southern Philippines: Mindanao

Mindanao is composed of six regions:  Regions IX (Zamboanga Peninsula), X (Northern Mindanao), XI (Davao Region), XII (SOCCSKSARGEN), XIII (CARAGA), and the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).

Region IX is composed of Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay provinces, the cities of Dipolog, Pagadian, Dapitan, and Isabela (in Basilan province).  There are 67 municipalities and 1851 barangays (villages or communities) all throughout the region.  Still called Western Mindanao, it is now known as Zamboanga Peninsula.

Region X is composed of Bukidnon, Camiguin, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental, and Misamis Oriental provinces, and the cities of Malaybalay, Iligan, Oroquieta, Gingoog, Ozamiz, Valencia, and Cagayan de Oro. There are 85 towns in the region, and 2020 barangays (villages).

Region XI is composed of Compostela Valley, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, and Davao Oriental, and the cities of Davao, Tagum, Digos, Panabo, and the Island Garden City of Samal.  43 towns and 1158 complete the Davao Region.

The provinces of Sarangani, South Cotabato, Cotabato and Sultan Kudarat constitute Region XII.  Cities in SOCCKSARGEN include Koronadal, Kidapawan, Alabel, and Cotabato.  There are 46 municipalities and 1155 barangays.

The CARAGA Region, or Region XIII is composed of Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur provinces; Butuan, Surigao, and TandagCities, 70 towns, and 1308 barangays distributed across the region.

ARMM is made up of Basilan Province, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi provinces,  the city of Marawi, 94 towns, and 2,445 barangays (1,155 of which alone are in Lanao del Sur).

Major languages (based on the number of speakers) are Cebuano, Maguindanao, Maranao, Ilonggo, Tausug, Chavacano, and Sama. (TPSA)

Photo Gallery